Pete Rose and the Hall of Fame

I thought it was pretty sad that the Basbell Writer’s Association didn’t put anyone into the Hall this year.  I’m not a fan of Clemens or Bonds, but they were the best players of their generation at their respective positions.  Now, I know, they took roids, whatever.  Fine.  I don’t think that’s a good thing, but those were the times.  And it was fun watching those guys.  I saw Sammy Sosa’s 64th homer at what was then Jack Murphy Stadium, and it was the only time I’ve ever seen a standing ovation for a home-run by the opposing team.

But whatever.  If a bunch of uptight baseball writers want to keep them out, fine.  I’m not going to cry about it.  But fuck Pete Rose.  I hope that guy never gets in.

I don’t know the guy personally.  I admit he was a great player, one of the best ever.  But I hate it that people are trying to make the comparison between what he did and what the juicers did, because the comparison sucks.  A contest between athletes, some of whom are stuffed full of roids, is still a contest.  Put manager dollars on the game, and it’s not long before you’re calling it Baseball Entertainment and having the players wear singlets.

But wait, you say, Pete says he only bet on his own team!  Every day!  Even if we take him at his word, it’s still not a good thing.  If you hate cheating, you’re not going to like the tactics managers start resorting to when their own money is on the line.  They’ll be peeing in players’ cups for them.  And if you’re a young pitcher who gets called up to the bigs by a manager with money on the game, enjoy having your arm blown out for a few extra wins.  I don’t like it.  So keep him out.  And fuck Shoeless Joe Jackson too.

Leave a Reply

