Looks Like Punching a Woman in the Face is a Good Career Move

When Chris Brown was arrested in 2009 for punching Rihanna in the face there was a lot of speculation about what affect it would have on his career.  Now we know the answer- he’s doing better than ever.  And what about his relationship with Rihanna?  Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you know the answer- they’re back together!

And can I say, the article I linked to is pretty awful:

Rihanna and Chris Brown cozied up at the Grammy Awards Sunday night in Los Angeles, four years after the highly-publicized physical altercation between the lovebirds.

Both Rihanna and Brown bowed out of attending the 2009 Grammys after an alleged battery incident took place between the couple the night before the ceremony. The reported domestic violence incident led to Brown pleading guilty and getting hit with a felony assault conviction. He continues to have probation court hearings on the matter.

Emphasis mine.

Oh those lovebirds and their physical altercations.  And way to use the passive voice there.   If you didn’t know the whole story you’d think no one did anything to anyone and poor ol’ Chris was convicted outta nowhere.

I have a point here and I’m going to make it.

Here’s Chris Brown, doing a song with Pitbull:

Now check this out, this is Ne-Yo.  He does a song with Pitbull too.  So far as I know, he’s never been arrested for domestic violence.  I bet some people hear him and go, “oh it’s Chris Brown on the radio.”

Is Ne-Yo a household name?  Doubt it.  While we’re at it, let’s have some more fun.

Chris Brown, doing a song with Ludacris:

(I swear, I didn’t even know this song existed, I just typed in “Chris Brown Ludacris” into Youtube and there it was.  I’m including because it makes for a nice pairing with my next one)

Taio Cruz, another young singer.  I don’t believe he’s ever been arrested for domestic violence or for trashing a Good Morning America dressing room.  Here his is, doing a song with Ludacris:

Is Chris Brown so much better than Taio or Ne-Yo?  My ears aren’t that great, but I’m going to say no.  I’m sure there could be other factors, but I have to think that Chris Brown’s behavior is what’s driving his fame.  And make no mistake, a Chris Brown tour is gonna outsell a Taio Cruz or a Ne-Yo tour.  I don’t even know if those guys are big enough to headline, even though they’re making pretty much the exact same music.

Whose fault is this?  I don’t know.  (I say this a lot.  I have lots of questions, not a ton of answers).  But it’s terrible perverse incentive we’ve set up here, and it’s shameful that no one is doing anything about it.

Leave a Reply

