If this place makes you cry come on baby stay a while Part I

During my junior year of college Protolexithymic and I lived in a dump in Pacific Beach.  Being young and broke and wanting to live in PB meant we didn’t have much choice.

It was a 50s style two story 8 unit apartment building.  We had a two bedroom, which was nice.  It was salmon and orange and the plaster was cracked in the front.  It was at least a mile from the beach and nowhere near the Grand or Garnet, the main PB streets.  But it was cheap.

Protolexithymic and I had never lived together before but had been friends for years before that.  And having grown up in the same small town we probably knew each other since we were in elementary school.  His aunt taught me how to swim.

I moved in a couple days before Protolexithymic and started getting things ready.

The first day Protolexithymic moves in and makes some dinner.  I notice him cooking and then doing the dishes.  The following exchange took place:

“Uh, dude, where did you get that sponge?”

“It was in the bathroom”

“AH MAN I USED THAT TO WASH THE TUB”

“So you want me to do the dishes again?”

“Yeah man, you probably should”

But overall Protolexithymic was a good roommate.  We’re both pretty mellow and we get along really well.

I had a girlfriend at the time but she was doing a year abroad so I was on my own.  We had agreed that we could see other people.  That didn’t happen for me.  I suspect it was a combination of being lazy about taking showers and because of the weight gain I had to deal with after breaking my leg.  And the fact that I’m not great at just going out and meeting women.  And I hadn’t started drinking yet so I didn’t even have liquid courage to rely on.

The broken leg happened a few months after we moved in. Protolexithymic and I were riding skateboards in the middle of the street when I saw a guy behind me on a bicycle.  I wasn’t paying much attention and I guess neither was he because he ran right into me.  I was knocked to the ground.

I started to get up but I took a look at my right foot at it had been bent 90 degrees to the right.  I didn’t feel anything.  But I wasn’t about to try to stand on it.  Protolexithymic picked me up and carried me to the sidewalk.  An ambulance came and picked me up.  I never felt any pain until they said they would reset my leg.  That is still the most pain I’ve ever felt.

I spent a good 2-3 months on crutches.  It was an El Nino year so it was extra shitty trying to get around in pouring rain.  Protolexithymic was super helpful during that time, driving me around before I got comfortable driving with my left foot.

To be continued

Leave a Reply

