I wish cancer could drink the black sperm of my vengeance

One of my heroes is dead.

There are Michael Jordans of the world, people who are great at what they do.  And then there are people like Roger Ebert who are great at what they do, but that I also respect as people.  I didn’t always love his TV show- I’m just not that in to movies.  But the way he wrote was always inspiring to me.  He was always looking for the best in the movies he reviewed, and he was able to see movies from several different perspectives- he reviewed movies according to whether or not they succeeded in what they set out to accomplish, not just on whether or not he liked them.

I started reading his blog after reading this interview with him, conducted after he had been battling cancer for a few years.  He was a brave human.  Braver than I can imagine myself being.

And let’s not forget his one contribution to film, one of my favorite movies ever.

That trailer only credits Russ Meyer, but that was Ebert too.

I’m gonna miss Ebert.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

