I have pet peeves, you know what I mean?

First off, I was in Joshua Tree, my favorite national park.  I swear I felt the spirit of Gram Parsons.  Gonna post some pix soon.

Second, congratulations to Linda Perry on her engagement to Sarah Gilbert!   Good for her!

Bad for me, because it reminded me of this:

Perry, the former lead singer of 4 Non Blondes, is best known for her work as a songwriter and producer for artists including Christina Aguilera and Pink. She first came onto the rock ‘n’ roll landscape in 1993, when 4 Non Blondes released their lone hit single, “What’s Up?”, which has been an anthem for generations to come.

emphasis mine

First of all- really?  Generations to come?  Do people still listen to this?  Why?

What’s going on, right?

No seriously, WHY DON’T YOU TELL ME?

That’s my problem with the song.  There was all kinds of momentous stuff taking place in America.  The Cold War had just ended.  America had returned from the first war in Iraq.  Apartheid in South Africa was coming apart.  AIDS.  Crack.  Were any of these things what she was talking about?  We don’t know because Linda doesn’t tell us. She just wonders about the “Brotherhood of Man”  Huh?  What is that?  Takes a deep breath, gets real high, prays for a revolution (why?  and what kind?) blah blah blah.

Here is one of my own rules of songwriting, which people should not violate-

If you have something to say, then say it. 

Other than the above song, the worst example of violating this rule in songwriting is this phrase:

If you know what I mean

OH DOES THIS ONE ANNOY ME.

She was just seventeen, if you know what I mean…

No, I don’t know what you mean.  Why don’t you tell me?  I can guess what you mean, but that might not be flattering to you.  Like you like underage girls or something.  Creepy.

Missipi Queen, if you knoooow what I mean

I guess he tries to explain this in the song.  His lady is on a boat called the Mississippi Queen.  He should have gone with- Mississipi Queen, let me tell you what I mean.  Is that cheesy?  Maybe it is.

Leave a Reply

