The new Taylor Swift Song is just like every other Taylor Swift Song

Have you heard the new Taylor Swift single?

This is trenchant self parody or Taylor has just run out of ideas:

It feels like a perfect night to dress up like hipsters
And make fun of our exes, uh uh uh uh

Isn’t this every night for her?

It feels like a perfect night for breakfast at midnight
To fall in love with strangers uh uh uh uh

Falling in love with strangers.

Isn’t this every night for her?

We’re happy free confused and lonely at the same time
It’s miserable and magical oh yeah

Miserable and magical.  One of these describes what I feel when I listen to this.

Tonight’s the night when we forget about the deadlines, it’s time uh uh

Previously she had deadlines for making fun of exes and falling in love with strangers, but she’s setting those aside for now.

OK, I’ll stop.

No, one more

Notice the twenty too eee ooh hoo hoo?  Doesn’t that sound familiar?

OH THAT’S RIGHT, SHE ALREADY USED THAT HOOK ON A SINGLE.

REMEMBER?

That was last year for crying out loud.  Can’t she go quit music to focus on acting already?

Update:

You know what, her limited talent isn’t really the problem.  The real problem with this song is the same one I had with that stupid fucking Cee Lo “Fuck You” song- it’s that she’s a wealthy successful person who is writing whiny songs about being victimized.

And I’ve said it once I’ll say it again, I don’t expect musicians to be “authentic” anymore than I expect actors to actually be like the characters they play.  But bad acting is bad acting.  Cee Lo singing “I’m sorry, I can’t afford a Ferrari but that don’t matter if it get you there” is obnoxious when I’m obvious he can afford a Ferrari.  It would lead a normal human to think, maybe it’s not the Ferrari that got you dumped Cee Lo.

Likewise, when pretty Taylor Swift is singing things like “she wears short skirts, I wear T-Shirts” most of us think, nope that ain’t the reason he’s not into you.  Like I said, I don’t care if Taylor is making everything up, but pretty people shouldn’t write songs complaining about not getting noticed, and rich dudes shouldn’t write songs blaming their lack of dating success on lack of money.  It’s just rude to those of us who aren’t good looking and/or wealthy.

Look people, if you want to get in with the little people by complaining about out your faults, ADMIT YOUR ACTUAL FAULTS.  Like this:

Taylor- She wears short skirts, I’m annoying

Cee Lo– I’m sorry, I’m way too dorky, but that don’t matter if I get you there.

You see what I’m saying?  Maybe I’m not in the target demographic.  Maybe I don’t get it.  But it bothers me.  So there.

Update II- I was going to write something else, and I put a photo in.  But I changed my mind and forgot to take the photo out. 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

