Bands my bands have been on the bill with part 1

This is by no means a definitive list, but I was thinking back on all the bands that we’ve played together with and I thought it would be fun to try to list some of them.  Some of them I can’t remember, some I don’t care to remember, and probably most of them don’t have Youtube videos, so a few are going to get left out.  Here we go:

Slab City

This was the only video I could find of this great Imperial Valley band.  Sweaty, angry, ugly, dirty- this is valley rock.  Or Torta Rock as they called themselves.

We played with them once at the Ken Club and they were all dressed in tighty-whiteys.  Sadly, they broke up a few years back.  Ernie, their keyboard player, owns a skate shop and bar in El Centro and plays with The Spits sometimes.  He puts on shows at Slab City itself every now on then.

Stalins of Sound

These guys are good friends of ours.  We’ve played with them several times, since when they were a solo act- just Hadi Fever alone with his guitar and drum machine.  They’re a three piece now, with Hadi, Dave and Jimmy the Worm, who I believe used to be in Slab City as well?  I can’t remember.  Jimmy is also an awesome writer.

They’ve been doing a lot of shows and opening for some name acts.  They even go out on tour at times, so try to catch them if they come to your town.

Tacocat

Stalins of Sound asked us to play on the show we did with them and Tacocat.  They’re from Seattle and they’re rad:

I really like them.  I love this song, but sometimes I look in the mirror and I remember it and then I get pissed:

More to come!

Leave a Reply

