Newest entrant in the genre parody sweepstakes

Are you serious?

Bubble butt, bubble bubble bubble butt

Bubble butt, bubble bubble bubble butt

I’ve said many times before that I don’t buy the idea that music today is any dumber than it has been in the past.  Yeah, this song is dumb.  So is half the crap my parents made me listen to.  This is just a new entry into a long line of songs that, no matter how much they pretend to be tongue-in-cheek (in cheek, get it?), are just blatant, lame pandering.

Or they are just so lame and cliche they threaten to be extinction level events for a genre.  Like this:

I know.  Rock and roll can be dumb, but this:

Woman
You know you’re a woman
You got to be a woman
I got the feeling of love

Do this guy have no more precise way of figuring out if the subject of his song is a woman besides, I got the feeling of love?  I imagine this monologue taking place:

Well, I met this person, and based on appearance, I guessed that she might be a woman, so I talked to her and I thought, well it sounds like a woman’s voice, but I still wasn’t sure.  Then it hit me, the feeling of love.  Then I was certain of her gender.

When I heard that song I thought, oh shit this song is so dumb it’s going to fuck up our whole genre.  It might have.  Bubble Butt might do that to rap.

Leave a Reply

