Where have I been?

I’ve been posting very lightly this month because I have been… at home… by myself.  My family took off to visit the in-laws and I have had the house to myself.  You’d think that would mean I would be doing this all the time, but here’s the thing- I do this because I have a family.

I’m not complaining about my family, because I love them and I can’t wait for them to get back tomorrow.  But I realized something a while back.  I can’t finish a thought.  Imagine sitting in a park, thinking about something.  Maybe a vacation in Hawaii.  You think about getting on a plane.  Arriving at the airport, picking up your bags.  Getting to your hotel.  Sitting on the beach.  Going snorkeling.  Eating at a luau.  etc. etc.

Finally, your brain runs out of places it can logically wander and you think to yourself, wow this trip is going to be great.  And then proceed to think about something else.

PARENTS DON’T GET TO DO THAT!

Just luxuriating in a thought, thinking it all the way through to fruition (woah, this is starting to sound dirty).  Not possible.  Someone is going to interrupt you.  RIGHT WHEN IT FEELS SO GOOOOOOOOD

Anyway, this is the best thing about having no one around.  And I didn’t realize how much I missed it until one day it hit me that I was going nuts having unfinished thoughts battling it out in my brain.

What I realized about blogging was I could pick out a thought early in the day and just kind of keep going back to it all day.  Just take small bites at it until it was done.  I needed an incentive to do this though, and blogging was great for that.  I normally do this with songs, but I’ve get enough ready that I don’t feel rushed there.

So that’s what I’ve been up to, thinking about stuff.  And going to the beach, because who wants to be in front of the computer during the summertime?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

