My thoughts are disconnected

We’re getting back in to the swing of school and I’m trying to get back in to writing every day, but I just have too much going on.  I heard this song at least five times today:

It’s pretty standard Katy Perry- she was weak, but she’s strong now!   I feel like she’s sung this song before.   She uses the line

I stood for nothing so I fell for everything

Which is one of those sayings that really doesn’t work for me.  I know plenty of principled people who fall for some pretty stupid shit.  Especially if they think it advances their principles.  You know those people.  On the other hand, the handful of sociopaths I know believe some pretty ridiculous shit too.  Maybe we should just agree that principles and gullibility don’t really correlate.

I don’t want to get too negative here, but what’s going on with this song:

It’s really two songs.  One, by Jay Z, which isn’t terribly original, but not terrible plus a different song by Timberlake which is terrible.

One day you’re there, one day you care, it’s so unfair

SHUT UP!

SHUT YOUR MOUTH TIMBERLAKE!

Does every song on his album suck?  Is this even on his album?  I don’t know.  That is some bad rhyming though.  Then there’s this

sipping from your cup. Till it runneth over, Holy Grail

HOLY GRAIL!

Where does that come from?  It’s just tacked on so awkwardly at the end of that line.  What does Holy Grail have to do with the song?  I’m probably giving whoever wrote it way too much credit, but I’m guessing it’s not a love song, it’s a song about fame.  But what is the Holy Grail?  What are they reaching for?  I feel like I’ve already given this song more thought than whoever produced it did.

Now let me share my all time favorite country song.  I don’t know if he wrote it, but it’s performed by The Killer, Jerry Lee Lewis.

Jerry always seemed to have that look on his face, like a cat that just ate the canary.  That look of supreme confidence only bestowed on a few select mortals.  I mean, I’m pretty sure he’s lip-synching in this video, but watch him live- no one ever made it look so easy.

Anyway, it’s just a simple song about getting drunk with your friends and coming home to an angry wife, but what I like about this song is that more than most others, it suggests that angry wife probably has a point.

3 comments

    1. I think he did during his country years. It’s kind of funny how little that era is remembered. They don’t even mention it in that Dennis Quaid bio-pic. Not having been there I can’t say for sure, but it seems like he was at least a moderate star in the country world. Here’s something I’ve been wondering about- do you think Chuck Berry could have gone country when his rock career fizzled? He was as country as anyone else from that era.

Leave a Reply

