Don’t leave me hangin’ bro

Let me preface this by saying Imagine Dragons probably aren’t aiming their records at me.  I just don’t think I’m in their target audience.  Which is fine.  But I listen to pop radio for what it can teach me about writing songs, and this is my blog so I’m gonna say what I am gonna say.

Anyway, this song is pretty interesting:

It’s a pretty heavy song for pop radio.  One minute it’s Katy Perry or Bruno Mars and then BAM it’s a song about some sort of robot man waking up to a destroyed world.  And it’s not danceable either.  Again, this sort of music isn’t really my cup of tea, but having a hit this way is pretty fucking cool.

Their latest hit is Demons.

The lyrics are a perfect example of something I find super annoying about pop songs.  I get it, the point is to try to appeal to as many people as possible, so songwriters keep lyrics as vague as possible.  But I always get annoyed, especially since their previous song had some lyrics that were actually interesting.  I could imagine that robot waking up.  This dude with demons?  Who is that guy?  I don’t even know.

I want some concrete examples.  Is that asking too much?  I don’t think so.  “I have demons, don’t get too close to me” isn’t something you can just throw out there.  People are going to want details.  Have the courage to tell us! What are your demons man?  Drugs?  Some weird fetish?  Anger management issues?  What?  TELL ME!

And don’t expect us to watch the video to find out either, that’s cheating.

Leave a Reply

