Things I love- Beer

I love beer.  Beer is great.

I once saw a guy who had IPA tattooed on his forearm.  If I ever get a beer tattoo I will get one that says Pilsner.  Because I am not a beer snob.  If it is beer I will drink it*.

That said, I prefer English ales.  I like my beer malty and kind of sweet.  OR I like it bitter and kind of coffeeish.  Or a good pilsner.

I am not a huge fan of IPAs, which are currently the regional beer of Southern California (especially San Diego), but I will drink them.  They taste best when they are very cold and it’s hot outside.

I have complained about the HOPS WAR that has been going on here, but I’m not going to do that here.  I can take hops.  But again, I prefer malts (malt? I don’t know the correct grammar here).

My personal favorite beer is a local brew named after a San Diego’s light-rail system- Karl Strauss Red Trolley Ale.  Beer advocate is calling that an Irish Red, and though I’m not at all Irish I seem to be very partial to those.

I’m also a huge fan of Deschute’s Brewery’s Black Butte Porter.

Like I said, I’m not a snob though, and I’ll be very happy with a Guinness or a Newcastle or even a Budweiser.  I’m unique among my friends in that I can drink multiple pints of Guinness, where the bitterness and alleged weight of the beer (I don’t feel it) catch up to them after one.  Guinness is apparently Irish too, so maybe that’s why.

I thought about expanding this post to include my love of other alcohols, but I don’t know that I have much to say that’s interesting about those either, so I’ll condense- Vodka- YAY!; Whiskey- yay, if it’s in a cocktail that doesn’t include Coke; rum- mmmm, kind of OK; gin- BOOOOOOO; Tequila- DOUBLE BOOO, unless it’s high very high end (higher than Patron) in which case YAY!; sake- yummy, but hurts my head; champagne- YAY!; wine- makes me crazy so I stay away.  Anything else?  Can’t think of it.

One thing I have learned about beer is that it gives me a nasty hangover, so I don’t drink that much in one sitting, unless I do, and then I just deal with the pain.  As a general rule I don’t drink any alcohol on weekdays because it makes it hard for me to sleep.

I’d claim I only drink in moderation, but that would be a lie.  I sometimes drink in moderation and I sometimes don’t.  When I don’t, it’s because I’m hanging with the neighbors or staying with friends so I don’t have to drive.

I love quiet dive bars, because I’m not there to meet people, just to talk to people I already know.

*Not true, actually.  I refuse to drink Miller High Life (the boxwine of beers) and Rolling Rock, even if there is nothing else.  Those two beers suck.  Also, Stella Artois sucks as does Corona if you don’t have lime, but I will drink them, in a pinch.

2 comments

  1. Around here, it’s Sam Adams and local breweries. Lots of mini brewers in New England. I don’t drink at all any more. Surprisingly, I only miss champagne. I liked champagne.

Leave a Reply

