Don’t promise what you can’t deliver

One of the funnier things people do with their song is to start out EPIC!   Make the beginning so awesome and then not be able to hold up the rest.  This song is the gold standard:

It’s not that it’s a bad song, it’s just that the first minute of the song is so much better than the rest.  And it’s not like Danzig isn’t trying; he’s singing his heart out.  So I guess blame the band.  Again, it’s not a terrible song, but after MAMAAAAAAAAA! I always feel let down when the rest of the band kicks in.

I also think they might have gone in to the song too quickly.  Fat Bottomed Girls has a similarly EPIC! opening:

But then it gives the song a minute to breath before ramping up the energy again, and it works a lot better.

This song has a similarly awesome beginning:

I’m a sucker for dual leads (what you get by having one guitarist play a melody, while the other plays the harmony), so that’s part of what I like.  But I also like how it builds and builds till I’m expecting something awesome.  And then the song starts and it’s just OK.  It’s pretty good.  I wonder if maybe I wouldn’t like it more if they had dropped the EPIC! intro.

On the other hand, the outro is EPIC! too.  They even sing a round!  Over flashing rock and roll guitars!  Maybe I like this song more than I am willing to admit.

This song is what really got me thinking about this.  It’s Kanye West and Jay Z and because it’s Kanye it has to destroy listener expectations in a new and perverse way.

It ends with:

You are now watching the throne

Don’t let me into my zone

Don’t let me into my zone

I’m definitely in my zone

This song was a huge hit and they played it on the radio several times every day.  And every time it got me- what is gonna happen when he gets into his zone?  Kanye is a good rapper, but not a great technical one, so it’s not like I was expecting some blast of tight lyrics.  I don’t know what I was expecting.  But I was expecting something.  But the song just ends.  Maybe the next song on the album was really awesome, but I never bought Watch the Throne so I have no idea what comes next.  It’s kind of unnerving.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

