Janet Jackson’s boob and the Super Bowl

This story on EPSN about Nipplegate was a fun read partly because it was well-researched and shed some light on what went on behind the scenes before and after Super Bowl XXXVIII and partly because of how dumb the original scandal was.

As you can guess, I fall heavily on the side of dude, it was just a boob.  What I took away from the story though was that- Justin Timberlake is a tool.  Not that I needed to read this story to form that opinion.

And we’ll probably never know exactly why it happened, because no one involved seems eager to talk about it.  Not that it’s keeping me up at night, but I’m mildly curious about whether it really was an accident or whether it was just an attempt at shock.  I’m an Alice Cooper fan, I like being shocked, let’s hear the answer.

The worst reaction I heard to that whole episode was from the singer of this punk band I saw performing a few weeks later.  I’m paraphrasing here, but he said basically “If you’re gonna show your titty on MYYYYYY TV, it better not be some old saggy one.”  LISTEN UP AMERICA!  Titties are welcome on his TV, but please clear them with that guy first, because old breasts offend him.  (and punk singers are only allowed to offend other people?)

While we’re on the subject of the Super Bowl, how on earth are the Red Hot Chili Peppers going to play in the middle of winter in New Jersey?  Forecasts are for freezing cold.  I remember there was a big deal about people lip-synching and pretending to play during Obama’s first inauguration when it was super cold.  But I don’t think there’s anything you can do in this kind of cold.  Instruments are sensitive to temperature.  What will they do?  Point giant heaters at the band?  Won’t that melt that part of the field?  What if that melted area freezes up again?  Then you have a big skating rink in the middle of the field.

Not to mention the poor Red Hot Chili Peppers are from LA.  Right now they have to be nervous.

4 comments

  1. I’m positive it was all intentional for the nipple to show. It’s just when the do-good’ers started phoning in, some righteous politicians decided to make a huge fuss of it to get some limelight, sending everyone scurrying for cover. Personally, in this day and age, I thought it was a storm in a tea cup – shit, not even a tea cup, maybe a tea spoon.

    1. Yeah, I think it probably was. What was sad was how they went after her for years afterwards, like she’d done something terrible. I get that is was a little inappropriate, but I feel like this was something we used to laugh about. The occasional boob was a punchline in the Airplane movies, for instance. Tell the Superbowl people “don’t do that again” and then move on. Plus there were all those media personalities who make their living accepting donations from uptight people who saw a chance to really increase their influence.

  2. For some reason, the Superbowl brings out the worst in a lot of people. I’m not sure why. Poison popcorn? Testosterone poisoning? But it happens every year … and I betcha there’ll be some kind of crazyness this time, too. I think of it as an extension of the half-time show.

    1. Last year when the power went out was very strange. I was afraid for the people in the stadium. Glad they got it back on. I don’t really follow football, but I watch the Super Bowl. I can’t resist spectacle.

Leave a Reply

