Random Thoughts

I was listening to some old recordings today and there was a song on there that I hadn’t thought about in years.  Literally five or six years.  I think we had worked on it for a bit, made a recording of it at practice and never played it live.  It was a good song, I may use it again.  But I can’t remember how to play it and the recording is really rough and I can only make out some of the words.  I think the lyrics are written down somewhere, and maybe the chords are.  If not I wonder if I can figure it out.

It’s kind of funny to think that I could totally forget a song like that, but it does happen.  I was jamming with a former bandmate a while back and he started playing a song I wrote.  He said “you remember this one?”  I didn’t.  I’ll have to look that one up too.

I took my son to see Book of Life yesterday.

It was a cute movie but one thing I particularly liked about it was how little suspense there is in the resolution of the love triangle between the main characters, Maria, Jaoquin and Manolo.  It’s obvious from the start that Maria favors Manolo, because she likes his music and he very obviously agrees with her on killing animals, going so far as to refuse to kill the bull at the end of a bullfight.  (Manolo comes from a family of bullfighters).

Jaoquin, on the other hand, tries for the big romantic gesture, which is usually what gets the girl.  In this case it doesn’t work.  Kids’ movies are full of stale cliches, but I thought it was nice that for once a movie portrayed something close to real life.

While we’re on the subject, the movie makes mention of Cinco de Mayo but never mentions the occasion that Mexicans more often celebrate- Dies y Seis de Septiembre.  Mexico has two independence days, but most consider independence from Spain a bigger deal than independence from France.  I’ve long suspected that the reason Americans latched onto the former is that it’s easier to pronounce.  It may also be easier to make puns on, though some enterprising business surely could have Dies y Sales de Septiembre.

2 comments

  1. As life marches inexorably onward, we forget many things we though we couldn’t possibly ever forget. Someday I’m sure my mind will be completely blank. Maybe it’s better that way.

    I think the real problem with Dies y Seis de Septiembre is it has too many syllables. Cinco de Mayo is snappy and peppy whereas Dies y Seis de Septiembre does not flow trippingly from the tongue 🙂

Leave a Reply

