Self-Referencing

How soon is too soon?

My ears perked up at a line in this song when came on the radio this morning

 

I gave you bass

 

This is the All About That Bass girl.  I was just talking about that girl a month ago!  She has one hit and is already self referencing!

I don’t know what to think about this.  Maybe she just doesn’t have a ton of ideas, but more likely this is intentional.  From a brand new singer that’s either guts or some amazing hubris.  Either way I admire it.

I don’t know have any particular thoughts on artists that self-reference.  Sometimes it’s a fun way of rewarding your audience for paying attention.  Like when the Beatles did it, it was cute.  I suppose it could be sometimes just lazy recycling of old ideas.  Then again, you don’t have to self-reference to do that

2 comments

  1. Well, writers self reference too, but I don’t because I’m pretty sure that I’m the only one who will get the inside joke (or whatever). But it has to be easier than coming up with new material, eh?

Leave a Reply

